2019, A Breakthrough Year for Hockey in Asia


One of the highlights of this year was the FIH Series Finals 2019 took place. In the Men’s category and during the event, Malaysia took the Silver medal, while India got the Gold and both qualified for the Olympic Qualifiers. Uzbekistan, Egypt, Singapore and China also participated but failed to achieve a good place. Japan and South Korea won the Bronze in their pool respectively. Meanwhile, in the Women’s category both South Korea and India won the Gold and qualified for the Olympic Qualifiers. Japan got the Silver medal but won’t compete in the Qualifiers because they are host nation for next year Olympics. Singapore, Fiji and Thailand failed to achieve good places in the tournament.

And the most important event of the year was clearly the FIH Olympic Qualifiers.  Asia was represented in the Men’s by Pakistan, India, South Korea and Malaysia. And in the Women’s by China, India and South Korea. One of the most anticipated matches was in the women’s category between India and United States. Each team won one of the games, with India ultimately winning the overall by one goal difference. Both matches were challenging and competitive, with all the platers giving it all in the field for a spot in Tokyo 2020. The Chinese women also qualified for next year’s Olympic after defeating Belgium on penalties. Meanwhile, the Indian men also qualified after smashing Russia in both matches with an impressive overall result of 11-3.

In late March, the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Ipoh, Malaysia took place. India, Canada, Japan, Malaysia, Poland, and South Korea participated in this edition. The final match was between India and South Korea, with the latter winning the tournament for the third time after defeating India 4–2 on penalties.

Thee 1st AHF Men’s Central Asia Cup was a major event for the Asian Hockey Federation.   Taking place in the city of Taldykorgan, in Kazakhstan, Oman, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Kazakhstan played the first tournament of its kind in what was a great display of hockey. The host nation was crowned as champion after winning every match.

A very important event that took place in September was the AirAsia Women’s Junior AHF Cup Singapore 2019. The event featured the teams of Chinese Taipei, Bangladesh, Singapore and Hong Kong China. Singapore finished in 1st place and Uzbekistan in 2nd, with this result both teams qualified for the Women’s Junior Asia Cup 2020.

One of the outstanding events of the 2019 was this year’s Sultan of Johor Cup in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. The international men’s under–21 tournament was won by Great Britain by defeating India 2–1 in an exciting finale, and despite the Indian’s huge effort to surpass their opponent. The hosts Malaysia won the bronze medal by defeating Japan 2–1.

Early this month the Men’s Junior AHF Cup took place Muscat, Oman. The event featured the teams of China, Iran, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Uzbekistan, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong China and Oman. The new generations of young players had a great performance in the last big tournament of the year. China won the tournament, Oman finished 2nd place, Chinese Taipei 3rd and Uzbekistan 4th. All of them qualified for the Men’s Junior Asia Cup 2020.



Indoor Hockey also had three big events this year. Beginning with the highly anticipated Men’s & Women’s Indoor Asia Cup 2019 in Chonburi, Thailand. The new edition of the tournament had in the Men’s category Iran defended their title by defeating Kazakhstan 10–0 in the final. Malaysia won the bronze medal by defeating Uzbekistan 6–3. Meanwhile, in the Women’s category Kazakhstan defended their title by defeating the hosts Thailand 3–1 in the final. Uzbekistan won the bronze medal by defeating Malaysia 1–0 in a shoot-out. On October 31, the Tuanku Zara Cup started with Malaysia, Uzbekistan, Chinese Taipei, Philippines and Nepal participating. This senior women tournament was won by Malaysia after defeating Uzbekistan 3-0.  And early this month, the South East Asian Games 2019 took place in Laguna, Philippines. The event featured the teams of Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand for men and Cambodia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand for women. Malaysia won in both men and women after great performances.

Real Time Analytics