42nd Junior Men’s National Championship, Sri Lanka Results

Danish Yazdani

Mercantile Hockey Association emerged champions by beating the Wennappuwa Hockey Association by 3 Goals to 02 Goals in the Finals played on 12th January 2020 in the Southern Province Sports Ministry Ground, Baddegama. Sri Lanka. (Coastal area) 115 KM from Colombo. This tournament was held in this district purposefully since there is a potential of school players that have a rapid development and considering to further develop the SLHF decided to conduct the tournament in this district. Although this tournament was played in Grass Court the participant’s talent was beyond expectation.

The tournament was held from 10th Jan to 12th January 2020.
1ST Quarter – 00 – 00
2nd Quarter – 00 – 01
3rd Quarter – 00 – 03
4th Quarter – 02 – 03
Goal Scores for Mercantile – Bodika Dias 02 Goals & Kamaleen 1 Goal
Goal Scorers for Wennappuwa – Vimukthi & N.G.Cooghe 01 Goal each.
Best Player of the 42nd Junior National awarded to Dilshan Laheer of Mercantile HA team.
Champions – Mercantile Hockey Association (MHA)
1st Runner Up – Wennappuwa Hockey Association (WPHA)
2nd Runner Up – Matale District Hockey Association
(3rd Place – Loosers Final)
Matale District Hockey Association team won the 3rd Place by beating the Galle District Hockey Association team by 3 Goals to Nil (0)
Goal Scorers for Matale HA S.H.Ratnapalage, D.Bandara & C.V.Vendaslot scored One Goal each.
Mr. Prassana Hennayke Director, Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation was the Chief Guest for the Finals and Mr. Gamini Wanniarachi Chairman Vidya Group as the special invitee. The Opening Ceremony was held under the Patronage of Mr. P.Vishvanthan President SLHF as the Chief Guest.

SLHF Trophy and Medals (Gold, Silver, Bronze) were awarded to the 1, 2 3 teams besides a valuable T-Shirt and Certificate was given to all participants by the SLHF
Total No of teams participated 14 representing from various districts of Sri Lanka.

Real Time Analytics