All Pakistan Gold Cup Hockey Tournament completed & Olympian Manzoor Junior Honored


Khushab, Pakistan: 09 March 2020, The All Pakistan Gold Cup Hockey Tournament under the auspices of the Pakistan Hockey Federation concluded after a colorful finals event. Sui Southern Gas was crowned the champion of the tournament, defeating Punjab Kallar in a nervous final. Pakistan Navy took the third position.

The final match went down this way: The Sui Southern Gas team broke the stagnation on the game in the 48th minute and with the help of their player Ahmed Nadeem scored a superb field goal, the Punjab total team showed courage and in the 55th minute of the game scored a goal. In the 57th minute Suhail Riaz of Sui Southern Gas scored the decisive goal of the match with a field goal and Sui Southern Gas became the champions in the 57th minute.

Organizing Secretary Mohammad Imran Khan International is ranked among the highest medal players in world hockey, serving as the legendary Olympian champion of the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics, Manzoor Jr., for his flagship green flag in world hockey, in recognition of unparalleled efforts and services was awarded special honors. Chief selector Pakistan Hockey Federation presented the award to Olympian Manzoor Junior along with former Forest Minister Malik Asif Bhai and former Tehsil Nazim and renowned national sports organizer Malik Mohammad Ayub Bhai.

Before honoring the legendary Olympian Manzoor Jr., Organizing Secretary Mohammad Imran Khan International thanked him by giving a special speech in recognition of his services to the national sport. He said that we are proud of the great nation of Pakistan which raised the green flag on the nations and proudly raised the country and nation as the Olympic winning captain. He was awarded the Special Honorary Shield and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000.

Other notables present at the proceedings were as follows:

Secretary Punjab Hockey Association, 1994 World Cup Gold Medalist Mohammad Usman Shaikh,  Hafiz Mohammad Arshad Congress Member PHF, Sheikh Aaron Saeed Congress Member PHF, Mian Zahid Iqbal Congress Member PHF, Chaudhry Tawfiq Ahmed, District Sports Officer Zawar Hussain Sigo, Tehsil Sports Officer, Zulfiqar Gujjar, Amir Aslam HF, Ikramul Haq Congress Member PHF, Malik Mohammad Asghar Congress Member PHF along with Mohammad Rafiq International, Abdul Qayyum Dogar International participated.

Real Time Analytics