Britain lift 3rd Sultan Of Johor Cup 2019 title


Great Britain lifted the 9th edition of the Sultan of Johor Cup defeating India 2-1 at the Taman Daya  Stadium.

In a final that India dominated for large parts, it was the never say die attitude of the British that saw then lift the title for a historic third time.

The final had all the ingredients to be a classic as both teams were chasing their third title since the inception in 2011.

India had previously won the title in 2013 and 2014 and were the bridesmaids in 2012, 2015 and 2018, ironically losing the 2015 and 2018 finals to Britain.

As for Britain, besides winning in 2015 and 2018, they were the losing finalists in 2014 and 2017, losing to India in the 2014 final.

So there was really everything to play for and in their pool match, barely 24 hours earlier, they played to a 3-3 draw.

India were the early aggressors as they took the match to Britain who opted to lie and defence and await counter attacks.

India managed to force two penalty corners but to no avail.

Another two penalty corners went to waste and Britain started making in roads.

However neither team could score and they walked off the pitch halftime all square.

It was not until their sixth penalty corner that India scored.

Gursahibjit Singh gave his team a 1-0 lead in the 49th minute.

But Britain hit back right away as Stuart Rushmere scored in the 50th minute, also from a penalty corner to make it 1-1.

With barely seconds on the clock Stuart Rushmere scores the winner to break the Indian hearts.

Roll of honour

FairPlay : New Zealand
Top Scorer; Shilanand Lakra ( India) – 5 goals
Best Goalkeeper :  Oliver Payne ( Great Britain)
Most Promising Player ; Kosei Kawabe ( Japan)
Man of the Match  ( Final ) : Stuart Rushmere ( Great Britain)

Real Time Analytics