Divisional team Nepal Army Club became champion in the ‘Fifth Girija Prasad Koirala Memorial National Men’s Hockey Championship’ held in Pokhara.


The divisional team defeated Nepal Police Club 5-1 in the final concluded at the multi-purpose covered hall at Pokhara stadium. As the champion, the Army handed over trophy, medal and certificate with Rs 50 thousand in cash, the runner-up police club received trophy, medal and certificate with Rs 30 thousand in cash.

Pradeep Rajambanshi scored 4 goals for Army in the game and Dipendra Air scored 1 goal. Roman Rana had scored 1 goal for the police. Army’s Manoj Chaudhary became player of the match in the final match.
Gandaki defeated Karnali Province 7-1 in the third place game. Prem Wick scored 2, Kushal Nepali and Pawan Pariyar equally 1-1 goals for Gandaki except Ashim who was also the player of the match. Jivan Rawat scored the only consolation goal for Karnali. Gandaki, who got third place, got 15 thousand in cash including trophy, medal and certificate.

Dipendra of Nepal Army has become the Air Player of the Tournament in the game which was run from Asar 10. Similarly, all the titles of the army players have won towards other schools. Pradeep Rajwanshi in West scorer, West defender Roshan Chaudhary got the trophy of Emerging Player by Susant Rokay of Karnali Province. They got 5 thousand public cash.

Chief Minister of Gandaki Province Government Surendra Raj Pandey, Social Development and Health Minister Vindukumar Thapa, Former Member of Parliament Sharda Poudel, Secretary of Province Sports Council Gandaki, President of Democratic Sports Association Devendra Sherchanalgayat distributed cash, trophies, medals and certificates.

The competition organized by Nepal Hockey Association and organized by Provincial Sports Council, Gandaki, Suvarna Shrestha, informed that the participation of two department teams and 8 teams from 6 different provinces.

The closing program was chaired by the president of the association Anil Sharma

Real Time Analytics