Girija Prasad Koirala Memorial Men’s Hockey Tournament concluded at Biratnagar

Danish Yazdani

The tournament featured a total of seven participating teams, including Province  1, Province 2, Bagmati Province, Gandaki Province, Province 5, Sudur Paschim Province, and Nepal Army.

Nepal Army who was defeated in semifinals on penalty shootout by Province 5, played for 3rd place. Nepal Army team won the match beating Sudur Paschim Province 6-0.
Nepal Army captain Ranjit Raut was declared man of the match.

Province 5 came on top winning the tournament on a penalty shootout against Gandaki Province.
Match ended on 1-1 draw at 60 minutes. Province 5 won in a penalty shoot-out 5-3. Ravi Kant of Province 5 was declared man of the match of the finals and Province 5 goalkeeper  Karthik Gurung was awarded the best goalkeeper of the tournament for taking the team to finals on the shootout and helping the team win the finals. 

 The winning team (Province 5) received Rs 50,000 along with medals, trophy, and certificates.

The Runner-up team ( Gandaki Province) received Rs 35,000 along with medals and certificates

The 3rd places team (Nepal Army) walked home with Rs15,000 along with medals and certificates.

Awards given in the tournament were:

*Roman Rana (Nepal  Army) – highest goal scorer of the tournament  with 12 goals
* Pitambar Thapa (Gandaki Province) – Emerging player of the tournament
* Karthik Gurung (Province 5) – Best goalkeeper for taking his team to finals and winning the finals on shootouts
* Sumit Kumar Kami (Gandaki Province) – player of the tournament for overall performance in the tournament

Real Time Analytics