Hockey India announces 40-Member Core Probable Group for maiden Sub-Junior Men’s National Coaching Camp

~The Sub Junior Men’s camp is set to commence on 21st August 2023 in Rourkela~


Hockey India has taken a momentous step towards fortifying the future of men’s hockey in the country. In an unprecedented move, Hockey India proudly introduces a 40-member Men’s Sub-Junior Core Group for a National Coaching Camp, underscoring its commitment to nurturing young talent and fostering excellence in the sport. Notably, former Indian Men’s Hockey Team Captain Sardar Singh will serve as a mentor and Coach for the camp. 

Commencing on 21st August 2023 at the world-class Birsa Munda Hockey Stadium in Rourkela, the National Coaching Camp will serve as the epicentre for assembling the most promising and adept young players from across the nation. The players have been selected on the basis of their recent performances in the Hockey India Sub-Junior National Championships. 

Also, the camp will be followed by international matches in Europe, where the players will have the opportunity to display their skills and test their mettle. 

The core group of the National Coaching Camp includes goalkeepers Rahul Bhardwaj, Atif Khan, Abhimanyu Gouda and defenders Sukhmanpreet Singh, Mithlesh Singh, Nitin, Sohil Ali, Sami Rizwan, Pradip Mandal, Rohit Kullu, Vishal Pandey, Ashu Maurya, Ujjwal Pal.

The midfielders included in the camp are Neeraj, Rohit Tirkey, Ghuran Lohra, Rohit Pradhan, Suresh Sharma, Prabhjot Singh, Manmeet Singh Rai, Arun J, Rahul Rajbhar, Rahul Yadav, Afridi, Bijay Shaw, while the list of forwards includes Gurpreet Singh, Srijan Yadav, Happy, Sunil, Ritendra Pratap Singh, Aashir Aadil Khan, Deonath Nanwar, Deepak Pradhan, Yojin Minz, Harshdeep Singh, Ketan Kushwaha, Rohit Irengbam Singh, Ajeet Yadav, Sundarajith M, and Moohamed Jaeed. 

Speaking about the camp, Coach Sardar Singh said, “The inception of the Men’s Sub-Junior Core Group stands as a pivotal moment in Hockey India’s ongoing journey to elevate Indian hockey to international prominence. This landmark initiative reflects Hockey India’s unyielding dedication to developing a dynamic pipeline of emerging talent, guaranteeing a prosperous future for men’s hockey on the world stage.” 

“The National Coaching Camp will provide an immersive experience for these young athletes. Rigorous training programs will focus on honing skills, enhancing physical fitness, refining tactical acumen, and bolstering mental resilience. I firmly believe that through providing these young athletes with premier coaching, cutting-edge facilities, and the opportunity to compete at the highest level, we have unwavering confidence in their capacity to excel and bring honour to our nation,” he added. 

List of players in Sub-Junior Men’s 40-member core-probable group: 


1. Rahul Bhardwaj

2. Atif Khan  

3. Abhimanyu Gouda



4. Sukhmanpreet Singh 

5. Mithlesh Singh 

6. Nitin 

7. Sohil Ali  

8. Sami Rizwan  

9. Pradip Mandal  

10. Rohit Kullu  

11. Vishal Pandey  

12. Ashu Maurya  

13. Ujjwal Pal 



14. Neeraj 

15. Rohit Tirkey  

16. Ghuran Lohra  

17. Rohit Pradhan  

18. Suresh Sharma  

19. Prabhjot Singh  

20. Manmeet Singh Rai  

21. Arun J  

22. Rahul Rajbhar  

23. Rahul Yadav  

24. Afridi  

25. Bijay Shaw 



26. Gurpreet Singh 

27. Srijan Yadav 

28. Happy  

29. Sunil  

30. Ritendra Pratap Singh  

31. Aashir Aadil Khan  

32. Deonath Nanwar 

33. Deepak Pradhan  

34. Yojin Minz  

35. Ketan Kushwaha  

36. Rohit Irengbam Singh  

37. Ajeet Yadav  

38. Sundarajith M 

39. Harshdeep Singh  

 40. Moohamed Jaeed 

Real Time Analytics