Hockey India Announces Men’s Squad for Paris 2024 Olympics   ~ _Harmanpreet will continue to lead the team, while Hardik will serve as his deputy in Paris_ ~_


New Delhi, 26th June 2024: Hockey India on Wednesday announced the much
anticipated 16-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team that will compete for
the top honours at the upcoming Paris 2024 Olympics, scheduled from 26th
July to 11th August 2024. With five Olympic debutants in the squad, the
team is infused with a fresh approach, driven by intense training and
preparation at the ongoing national camp at the SAI Centre in Bengaluru.

The Indian Men’s Hockey Team will continue to be led by ace
drag-flicker and defender Harmanpreet Singh, with powerful midfielder
Hardik Singh as the Vice-Captain. Harmanpreet is set to play in his
third Olympics, having debuted as the youngest member of the Indian
squad at the 2016 Rio Olympics and subsequently contributing to the
Bronze medal win at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.
The squad also features veteran goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and midfielder
Manpreet Singh, both of whom will be making their fourth Olympic
appearance. The defence line includes Harmanpreet Singh, Jarmanpreet
Singh, Amit Rohidas, Sumit, and Sanjay, while the midfield will see the
contributions of Raj Kumar Pal, Shamsher Singh, Manpreet Singh, Hardik
Singh, and Vivek Sagar Prasad. The forward line boasts formidable
players such as Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep
Singh, and Gurjant Singh.
Additionally, goalkeeper Krishan Bahadur Pathak, midfielder Nilakanta
Sharma, and defender Jugraj Singh have been named as alternate athletes.

Intriguingly, Jarmanpreet Singh, Sanjay, Raj Kumar Pal, Abhishek, and
Sukhjeet Singh are the five players who are set to make their Olympic
debut in Paris.
Speaking on the team selection, Chief Coach Craig Fulton said, “The
selection process for the Paris Olympics’ squad was incredibly
competitive due to the depth of talent within our ranks, however, I am
confident that every player chosen will bring their best to Paris. Each
player selected has demonstrated exceptional skill, dedication, and
resilience throughout our rigorous preparation phase. Our journey has
been marked by unwavering commitment to excellence and a collective
drive to elevate Indian hockey on the world stage.”
He added, “This squad embodies a perfect blend of experienced players
and promising young talents, giving us the versatility and energy
required to tackle the challenges ahead. Our focus has been on building
a cohesive team that can adapt to different playing styles and
situations, and I believe we have achieved that.”
“As we head to Paris, our goal is clear – to play with heart,
skill, and determination. We are prepared to face the world’s best teams
and strive for the highest podium. This squad is ready to seize the
opportunity and bring glory to India. We are confident in our abilities
and excited about the journey ahead.”
Talking about the upcoming Paris 2024 Olympics, India are placed in
Pool B alongside defending Champions Belgium, Australia, Argentina, New
Zealand, and Ireland. To advance to the Quarter-Finals, the team must
secure a top-four finish in their pool.
Pool A comprises the Netherlands, Germany, Great Britain, Spain, South
Africa, and host nation France, setting the stage for a highly
competitive 12-team men’s hockey tournament at the Paris 2024
The Indian Men’s Hockey Team will kick off their campaign on 27th
July against New Zealand, followed by a match against Argentina on 29th
July. They will then face Ireland and Belgium on 30th July and 1st
August, respectively, with their final group stage game against
Australia on 2nd August.
It is worth mentioning that the Indian Men’s Hockey Team has a rich
Olympic history, having secured an impressive 12 Olympic medals,
including 8 Gold, 1 Silver, and 3 Bronze medals, hence, the
Harmanpreet-led team will be aiming to add another medal to the tally.
Indian Men’s Hockey Team for Paris 2024 Olympics:
1.    Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran
2.    Jarmanpreet Singh
3.    Amit Rohidas
4.    Harmanpreet Singh
5.    Sumit
6.    Sanjay

7.    Rajkumar Pal
8.    Shamsher Singh
9.    Manpreet Singh
10.   Hardik Singh
11.   Vivek Sagar Prasad
12.   Abhishek
13.   Sukhjeet Singh
14.   Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
15.   Mandeep Singh
16.   Gurjant Singh

Alternate Athletes:
17.   Nilakanta Sharma
18.   Jugraj Singh
19.   Krishan Bahadur Pathak

Real Time Analytics