Hockey India announces Trophy Tour ahead of FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 Bhubaneswar-Rourkela

The tournament is set to kick off on 13th January 2023 ~

With less than 50 days left for the start of the highly anticipated FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 Bhubaneswar-Rourkela, Hockey India announced a Trophy Tour, during which the prestigious World Cup trophy will be taken across various parts of the country. The tour will officially kick off from December 5th with Hon’ble Chief Minister of Odisha Shri Naveen Patnaik handing over the trophy to Hockey India President Dr. Dilip Tirkey in Bhubaneswar.
The prestigious trophy will travel across 12 states and one Union territory, before returning to Bhubaneswar. The 21-day tour will see the trophy move across West Bengal, Manipur, Assam, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana New Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, and Karnataka, before finally returning to Odisha on December 25th, 2022, after which, the trophy will go on a tour of the state of Odisha.
No. Date Period Location
1. 5th December 2022 DAY 1 Bhubaneswar, OD
2. 6th December 2022 DAY 2 Kolkata, WB
3. 7th December 2022 DAY 3 Imphal, MN
4. 8th December 2022 DAY 4 Guwahati, AS
5. 9th December 2022 DAY 5 –
6. 10th December 2022 DAY 6 Jamshedpur, JH
7. 11th December 2022 DAY 7 Ranchi, JH
8. 12th December 2022 DAY 8 Lucknow, UP
9. 13th December 2022 DAY 9 UP/Punjab
10. 14th December 2022 DAY 10 Amritsar, PB
11. 15th December 2022 DAY 11 Sonipat, HR
12. 16th December 2022 DAY 12 Delhi
13. 17th December 2022 DAY 13 Delhi
14. 18th December 2022 DAY 14 Bhopal, MP
15. 19th December 2022 DAY 15 –
16. 20th December 2022 DAY 16 Mumbai, MN
17. 21st December 2022 DAY 17 Chennai, TN
18. 22nd December 2022 DAY 18 Thiruvananthapuram, KE
19. 23rd December 2022 DAY 19 –
20. 24th December 2022 DAY 20 Bengaluru, KA
21. 25th December 2022 DAY 21 Trophy reaches Bhubaneswar for Odisha tour
Addressing the Trophy Tour, Dr. Dilip Tirkey, Hockey India President, said, “The idea behind the initiative is to give the hockey fans across parts of the country an opportunity to glimpse of the prestigious trophy that all the teams will be competing for. The Indian fans have always been passionate about hockey and will be eager to cheer for their home team in the upcoming tournament. We believe the tour will give the fans a chance to stay connected with the sport and send their best wishes to the Indian team before they begin the campaign.”
The FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023 Bhubaneswar-Rourkela will begin from 13th January 2022. Hosts India, who are placed in Pool D, along with Spain, England, and Wales, opening their campaign against Spain on January 13th as well.
Australia, Belgium, Netherlands, India, Argentina, Germany, New Zealand, England, France, Korea, Malaysia, Spain, South Africa, Japan, Chile, and Wales are the 16 teams, who will be competing in the tournament.
Real Time Analytics