Hockey India League – Setting Global Standards

The 4th edition of the Annual Hockey India League

11 Jan 2016

The 4th edition of the Annual Hockey India League is just around the corner, getting under way on the 18th of January with fixtures lined up until the 21st of February.  We take a look at the tournament background and what we can expect from this year’s edition.

The first edition of the tournament took place in 2011 with 5 clubs competing against each other for the inaugural crown. A total of USD 1.37 million was spent on buying some of the world’s best hockey players from Australia, New Zealand, Argentina and other top Hockey nations. The Ranchi Rhinos took victory over the Dehli Waveriders in the final and were crowned the first champions of the Hockey India League.

NEW DELHI, INDIA - JANUARY 8: (L-R) Hockey captains of Oliver Korn of Germany, Argentina's Facundo Callioni, Mark Knowles of Australia, Robert Vander Horst of the Netherlands, India Sardar Singh, John-John Dohmen of Belgium, Dean Couzins of New Zealand  and Barry Middleton of England during the unveiling of Hero Hockey World League Final Trophy on January 8, 2014 in New Delhi, India. (Photo by Virendra Singh Gosain/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Since then, the tournament has vastly grown in popularity and is broadcasted on 7 major sports channels all across the globe. The tournament is sanctioned by the International Hockey Federation, and a 30 day period is blocked on the calendar for all elite athletes to be available for competition.

Akashdeep Singh and Moritz Furste are just some of the top names that will be representing their clubs in this year’s edition of the HIL. A total of 6 clubs from 6 different cities will be featuring in this top-level tournament. The event has become a showcase and pinnacle of world hockey, setting the bar high for Asia and the rest of the world.

Follow us on:   |   Twitter:  @asia_hockey  |   Facebook:  Asian Hockey Federation

Real Time Analytics