Key decisions and outcomes
from the AHF Congress 2017

All the key decisions and announcements from Muscat

1 April

On Thursday, 30 March 2017, the AHF Ordinary Congress, the biennial gathering of Member National Associations, took place in Muscat, Oman. Delegates and guests enjoyed a fruitful exchange of information and ideas in beautiful Muscat and enjoyed the exceptional hospitality of the Oman Hockey Association under the progressive leadership of its President Captain Talib Khamis Al Wahaibi. The formal proceedings of Congress were preceded by the AHF Conference session, during which delegates and guests received in-depth information and updates on a variety of topics, including the FIH Hockey Revolution, the AHF Strategy and Delivery Objectives, National Association Development Models, and Olympic Solidarity Support.

Following the conclusion of the AHF Conference and the AHF Congress 2017, here’s a summary of all the key decisions and announcements made
in Muscat, Oman.

Promising candidate new Members
Asian Hockey Federation continues to grow and took the opportunity of Congress to introduce the three most promising candidate National Associations to the Asian hockey family –
Bahrain, Iraq and Saudi Arabia are all preparing to seek full membership of the FIH and AHF in the very near future following substantial development of the sport in those nations in recent years, and benefited greatly from the exchange with their colleagues in Muscat.

New Executive Board Member
Congress formally endorsed the Executive Board’s recommendation to elect Abhijit Sarkar from India as a Vice-President of the AHF Executive
Board for the 2017/2018 term, replacing Dr. Narinder Batra who resigned upon his election as FIH President. Mr. Sarkar has been associated with major Indian conglomerate Sahara India Pariwar since 2004 and has served as the Head of Corporate Communications, Corporate Affairs and Relations, and the Sports Division at the organization. In addition to taking on the AHF Vice-President position, Mr. Sarkar will also be chairing the new Commercial and TV Partnership Committee of the AHF.

Yoshida Motohito, Chairman of Hyojito Co Ltd, was presented with the Honorary Membership of the Asian Hockey Federation, one of the highest honors of AHF, recognizing eminent personalities from outside the AHF who have rendered particularly outstanding services to it. Mr. Yoshida will also be chairing the AHF Marketing Committee.

The Diploma of Merit recognizes individuals or National Associations for contributions which have had an outstanding impact on the development and promotion of Asian hockey within the continent and beyond. Among the recipients were: Brenda Smith (Hong Kong), Elena Norman (India), Shin Jung Hee (South Korea), and Sumith Edirisinghe (Sri Lanka).

Bahram Shafie was awarded the President’s Award for the consistently focused performance of Iran in the past few years. The President’s Award
recognizes individuals who have supported, promoted or developed hockey in an outstanding manner with projects or programs over many years.

The Sultan Azlan Shah Memorial Trophy was presented to the Bangladesh Hockey Federation for their outstanding improvements in and out of field. The Sultan Azlan Shah Memorial Trophy is designed as a distinguished honour for individuals or National Associations who have  had an exceptional impact on the sport in and for Asia through outstanding contributions over an extended period of time.

The recipients of the Certificate of Recognition included Captain Talib Khamis Al Wahaibi (Oman), Htaw Saw Lu Lu (Myanmar), Japan Hockey
Association, Malaysian Hockey Confederation and Rinat Mamatkazin (Uzbekistan), while Development Effort Awards went to the Thailand Hockey Association, Rana Asif Maqsood and Anil Sharma. The Best Effort Awards went to the Oman Hockey Association, in recognition of their superior efforts and enhanced activities in the recent past.

Yokoyama Hide of Japan was presented with a souvenir to commemorate his appointment as Vice-chairman and Special Advisor to the AHF Marketing Committee by the AHF Executive Board.

Congress also endorsed the creation of three new awards which will be presented from the next Ordinary AHF Congress, with the exception of the Sultan Azlan Shah Trophy, which was presented in Muscat for the first time. The new awards recognize special achievements and are named in honor of eminent personalities of Asian hockey: HRH Sultan Azlan Shah, Ashwini Kumar and Air Marshal Nur Khan.

Key Speakers
Throughout Congress delegates were able to hear from some key influencers from the world of sport and business. The Congress was opened by HRH Tengku Abdullah Shah address in front of an esteemed panel of special guests that included the likes of: His Excellency Sheikh Saad bin Mohammed Al Mardhouf Alsaadi-Honorable Minister for Sports Affairs, Dr. Narinder Batra-President International Hockey Federation (FIH), Jason McCracken-CEO International Hockey Federation (FIH), Tayyab Ikram-CEO Asian Hockey Federation (AHF), Sheikh Khalid Zubair-President
National Olympic Committee Oman, His Royal Highness Prince Khalid Bin Bandar of Saudi Arabia, Mr. Yokoyama Hide, and Captain Talib Khamis al Wahaibi-Chairman Oman Hockey.

Delegates were updated from FIH’s own Jason McCracken on the progress of the Hockey Revolution, and the new home-and-away competition coming into effect in 2019. Tayyab Ikram, CEO AHF and Elisabeth Fuerst, Event and Sport Director, provided a lot of engagement with a session on Strategy and Delivery Objectives and Event Marketing and Communications while Captain Talib
Khamis al Wahaibi, Chairman Oman Hockey, addressed the esteemed dignitaries and welcomed the Congress attendees to the beautiful city of Muscat. AHF Treasurer Fumio Ogura presented the formal finance report to the National Associations.

HRH Tengku Abdullah Shah: “The Asian family thanks all participants for their support as everyone can witness the immense progress made by the AHF from the past two years to now under the leadership of Tayyab Ikram, CEO AHF.”

Dr. Narinder Batra: “HRH Tengku Abdullah Shah’s kind invitation to me to come at the AHF Congress has been well received. The Asian family is very important for us to support. My deepest gratitude is towards Tayyab Ikram and Fumio Ogura for their vital and significant support for me in becoming the FIH President.”

Tayyab Ikram: “My great appreciation towards His Excellency Sheikh Saad bin Mohammed Al Mardhouf Alsaadi-Honorable Minister for Sports Affairs, for his leadership in sports all around the world. It is a great honor to welcome you here. Also, my special thanks to Sheikh Khalid Zubair-President National Olympic Committee Oman, for his love for sports in Oman and also as an esteemed leader in Asia.

Dr. Batra and Jason McCracken have made great progress in developing and maintaining the leadership of global hockey and I wish them big success in the future of hockey”

AHF Player Awards
Asian stars were recognized in the two categories:

Player of The Year (Male): SV Sunil (India)
Player of The Year (Female): Hazuki Nagai (Japan)

Promising Player of The Year (Male): Harmanpreet Singh (India)
Promising Player of The Year (Male): Nadia Hanis Onn (Malaysia)

Follow us on   |   Twitter:  @asia_hockey  |   Facebook:  Asian Hockey Federation

Real Time Analytics