Rabobank Champions Trophy Breda

Grand Finale to be held in Breda - 23st June to 1st July

11 June 2018

Breda: The final edition of the prestigious Hockey Champions Trophy will start from the 23st of June in the heart of Netherlands. 6 teams, namely; India, Pakistan, Netherlands, Australia, Argentina, and Belgium, will go head to head in the 12 day event to claim a podium spot in the last playoffs of an event that has been etched into the souls of hockey professionals and followers alike.

The famous sporting rivalry of India and Pakistan will be seen in the inaugural match of the tournament. Pakistan is the only Asian team to secure a gold medal in the Champions Trophy, winning in the first two editions of the event in 1978 and 1980, followed by the most recent victory in 1994. In addition to the gold medals, Pakistan has won Silver and Bronze 7 times. India end the campaign of last year’s edition with a Silver, losing out to Australia in 2016 final in London 2016.

The reigning champion and world number 1, Australia, leads the titles table with 14 Gold Medals, 10 Silver Medals, and 4 Bronze Medals. 2016 Champions Trophy’s Bronze medalists Germany are second in the titles table with 10 Gold Medals, 7 Silver Medals, and 7 Bronze Medals. The host nation of the final edition of the Hockey Champions Trophy, Netherlands, have won the tournament 8 times, with their most recent victory coming in 2014.

The matches can be seen live on the following channels in Asia:

(Including; Maldives, Nepal, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka)
Star Sports
Pakistan Ten Sports

Hockey Champions trophy began in 1978, and was founded by Pakistan Hockey Federation and International Hockey Federation (FIH). 36 editions have been played so far, each of which showcased some of the top hockey playing nations in the world. The tournament was annually between 1978 and 2014, after which it was turned into a biennial affair.

Visit the Event Page for Schedule and all the information related to the event at https://goo.gl/8A4gQD.



Follow us on www.asiahockey.org   |   Twitter:  @asia_hockey  |   Facebook:  Asian Hockey Federation

Real Time Analytics