Terengganu Hockey Team (THT) Malaysia TNB Cup Champions 2021


Terengganu Hockey Team (THT) repeated the success of the last two years to emerge the TNB Cup 2021 champions after beating UniKL in the final through a 2-0 shoot-out penalty shootout at the Bukit Jalil National Hockey Stadium tonight.
Both teams tied 4-4 at full time of the match with five goals resulted in the first half.

THT goalkeeper Muhammad Hafizudin Othman was hailed as a hero when he blocked all four attempts by UniKL players during the shoot-out penalty shootout.
The success also redeemed the frustration of THT who lost at the hands of UniKL last season apart from lifting the TNB Cup for the sixth time.
For UniKL, the defeat at the hands of THT also blocked the desire to repeat the success of last year’s treble despite returning with two titles as the Contribution Cup champion and TNB Malaysia Hockey League (Premier) 2021 Champion.

Syarman Mat Tee and Muhammad Noor Firdaus Rosdi helped THT win through two shoot-out penalty nets while all four UniKL players including the captain, Muhammad Marhan Mohd Jalil were blocked by Muhammad Hafizuddin’s excellent performance.
As soon as the match started, it seemed to be in favor of UniKL who clearly dominated the movement at the beginning of the first quarter. Experienced national striker Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Tengku Jalil surprised THT with two consecutive goals in four minutes, the first through a field goal in the ninth minute and the second goal from a stroke penalty in the 13th minute.

However, THT equalized through a field goal through main striker Faizal Saari in the 15th minute followed by Muhammad Arif Syafie Ishak two minutes later.
Mohamad Akhimullah Anuar Esook put THT ahead through a beautiful reverse hit to give THT a 3-2 lead.
UniKL bounced back in the second half through Muhammad Razie Abd Rahim’s penalty corner goal in the 35th minute before Faizal Saari steered THT back in front with a field goal in the 38th minute.

A 51st minute goal by UniKL striker Mohamad Ashran Hamzani saved UniKL and forced the match to be decided through a shoot-out penalty.
Team captain Faizal Saari expressed satisfaction with tonight’s success and described it as one of the sweetest in his hockey career. “Very satisfied because we were able to come back after falling behind and then win in the shoot-out penalty shootout,” he said.

Meanwhile, TNB cured their frustration by winning third place in the TNB Cup after beating Maybank 1-0 as a result of Muhajir Abdu Rauf’s goal in the 31st minute.


1. Champion: THT
2. Second: UniKL
3. Third: TNB

• Fair play: Sabah
• Player of the match: Mohd Shahrun Nabil Abdullah (THT)
• Top Goals Scorer: Faizal Saari (THT – 16 goals)
• Best Goalkeeper: Muhammad Zaimi Mat Deris (Maybank)
• Most Promising Player: Shello Silverius (THT)

Real Time Analytics