The Malaysian Junior Hockey League (MJHL) 2023 will officially open from August 3 to August 19 with 28 men’s teams and 16 women’s teams under the age of 19 years old to grab the championship at stake for this season.


A total of 140 matches will take place throughout the league and this season will also see four venues be used as official venues with Bukit Jalil National Hockey Stadium being the venue for the Men’s Division 1 category as well as the final action for all categories. The Bukit Serindit Hockey Stadium, Melaka, is also the venue for Division 2 Men’s Category, South Zone and Bertam Hockey Stadium, Penang, for Division 2 Men’s Category, North Zone while KPM Lembah Pantai Hockey Stadium, Kuala Lumpur for the Women’s category.

The competition will also be a platform for the coaching line of the national youth squad to evaluate players who may be able to be absorbed into the national youth team as well as have the opportunity to play in the FIH Junior Men’s World Cup Hockey Tournament, Kuala Lumpur 2023 which will take place from December 5 to December 16 2023.

For the Men’s Division One Category, the participation of the two teams that emerged as Champions and Runners-up of Division Two (2022), namely DBKL HT and SSBJ Junior, makes the total number of teams competing in the 2023 season as many as 10 teams.

18 teams will compete in the Men’s Division Two competition while for the Women’s Category, 16 teams have been divided into four groups and four teams in each group. The 2023 season also saw the appearance of four new teams in the Men’s Division 2 while seven new teams for the Women’s Category.

In a press conference that took place today, the Chairman of the KHM Competition Committee, Datuk Seri Dr. Anil Sandhu also introduced Norakma Hashim as the Tournament Director and will be assisted by the Assistant Tournament Director, P. Kuganeson.-MESSENGER

Real Time Analytics