The TNB Malaysia Hockey League (TNB MHL) 2022 Championship which will open on 18 February


The TNB Malaysia Hockey League (TNB MHL) 2022 Championship which will open on 18 February has received participation from 13 teams (7 Men and 6 Women) where the teams will compete to win the 2022 season.

The TNB MHL 2022 Championship returns to its original format where it will be held reciprocally around Peninsular Malaysia. As in previous seasons, the league’s top four teams will advance to the semi-finals to clinch the TNB Cup Championship for the men’s category while the women’s will challenge for the Vivian May Soar Cup Championship.

For this season, the women’s category will feature three new teams, namely Negeri Sembilan Girls, Sarawak and the National Development Team which is the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (KHM) Development Squad.

In a press conference held today at the KHM Meeting Room, the Chairman of the Competition Committee, Dato ‘Sri Dr. Anil Jeet Singh also shared that his committee’s initial plans to finish the TNB MHL 2022 competition in June have been initiated.

“After examining every aspect of the tournament, the league will end at the end of March 2022 and this decision was made because we do not want the tournament to conflict with the International Hockey Federation (FIH) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) calendars.

“This decision was also made because we believe the National Head Coach needs time to prepare the national team and undergo training ahead of the next tournament.

“The tournament will follow the Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) set by the Malaysian government, including using guidelines from FIH.

“Every player and official involved in this tournament is required to complete the vaccine injection (2 doses) and this is the same decision as the previous tournament.

“Only for the TNB MHL 2022 Championship, we encourage the players and officials involved to get a booster dose injection. We do not set a mandatory condition for their participation to get a booster dose, but if they get the injection, it is better to increase the confidence of everyone involved, “explained Dato ‘Sri Dr. Anil Jeet Singh

The KHM Competition Committee has previously identified five venues that will be used throughout the tournament, but it is also subject to approval for the tournament to be conducted such as the suitability of the field surface and the floodlight conditions at the venue.

The five venues are Bukit Jalil National Hockey Stadium, MBKT Batu Buruk Hockey Stadium, Terengganu, Bertam Hockey Stadium, Penang, Seremban 2 Hockey Stadium and Klang Municipal Council Hockey Stadium.


Source: Malaysian Hockey Confederation

Real Time Analytics