Under-16 National Hockey Championship 2020 takes place in Peshawar, Pakistan


Peshawar: 28 November 2020

Under-16 National Hockey Championship 2020 inaugurated with the support of Directorate General of Sports Khyber Pakhtunkhwa organized by Pakistan Hockey Federation. Chief Secretary Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Dr. Kazim Niaz inaugurated the hockey competitions at Lala Ayub Hockey Stadium in Peshawar. He was accompanied by Chairman Selection Committee Olympian Manzoor Jr., Member Olympian Khalid Hameed, Secretary Sports and Tourism Abid Majeed, Chairman Provincial Hockey Association and former IG. P Muhammad Saeed Khan, President Tournament Syed Zahir Shah, Secretary Hidayatullah, Former International Player and Coach Yasir Islam, Syed Zia-ur-Rehman Banuri and Olympian Rahim Khan were also present.

The first match of the event was played between Sindh A and Punjab C, which ended in a goalless draw. The umpiring duties in the match were performed by Sajjad Hussain, Sabteen Raza, reserve umpire Subhan while the duties of judges Sheikh Ali Abid, Aslam Shah and technical officer Aslam Khan Niazi were performed.

In the second match, Islamabad beat Punjab D by two goals to one. Timur Shehzad and Sharjeel scored for Islamabad in the eighth and 52nd minutes respectively. Alian Malik scored the goal in the 27th minute. The umpiring duties were Mazhar Wasim, Fahad Ali Khan and the reserve umpire was Sajid Abbas. Judges Sheikh Ali Abid, Ijaz Ahmed and Muhammad Yaqub performed the duties of Technical Officer.

The third match of the event was played between Sindh B and Punjab B which Sindh B won 0-1. The duties of umpiring were great. Judges Sheikh Aslam Shah and Ijaz Ahmed while Hamza Tufail performed the duties of Technical Officer.

Under the auspices of Pakistan Hockey Federation, the National Under-16 Hockey Championship for the development and promotion of the national game under the Youth Hockey Development Vision will be held in Peshawar from November 28 to December 10. The PHF Youth Hockey Development Vision Four teams from Punjab while two teams each from KPK, Balochistan and Sindh will participate in the mega event. One team each from Islamabad, Gilgit, Baltistan and Azad Jammu and Kashmir will participate in the event.

Real Time Analytics