3rd Hockey India Senior Men Inter-Department National Championship 2023 to begin in Bengaluru from tomorrow

~ 18 teams will vie for top honours along with Defending Champions Railway Sports Promotion Board


Kakinada (Andhra Pradesh), 25 th  February: Hockey stars from 18 departments have descended in
Bengaluru for the 3 rd  Hockey India Senior Men Inter-Department National Championship 2023 which
will be held at the Field Marshal KM Cariappa Hockey Arena from Sunday, 26 th  February. The
inaugural edition of this prestigious tournament was also held in Bengaluru in 2021.
The tournament is expected to see some intense rivalries among departmental teams being played
out, making the Championship exciting for the spectators. Defending Champions Railway Sports
Promotion Board will look to keep their record intact despite an array of teams in the competition.
Hockey buffs in Bengaluru are in for an action-packed week as several international players are set
to participate in the tournament.
The 18 teams are divided into four pools. Railways Sports Promotion Board are grouped in pool A
with Central Reserve Police Force, Food Corporation of India, Air India Sports Promotion Board,
Sports Authority of Gujarat – Hockey Academy.
In pool B, last year's finalist Petroleum Sports Promotion Board are grouped with Sports Authority of
India, Canara Bank, All India Police Sports Control Board and Tamil Nadu Police while in pool C,
Services Sports Control Board, Cromptroller and Auditor General of India, Central Industrial Security
Force and BSES (Delhi) will fight to make it to the next round.
In pool D, Punjab National Bank, Punjab and Sind Bank, ITBP Central Hockey Team and Sashastra
Seema Bal will take on each other.
"The tournament promises to be accelerating with the best departmental teams taking part. We saw
some exceptional talent in the previous editions of this tournament, some of whom also received a
call-up to the Senior Men's National Coaching Camp. We look forward to unearthing more such
talent this edition who can fight for a place in the 33-member core probable group," said Hockey
India President Padma Shri Dr Dilip Tirkey.

Real Time Analytics