3rd Open Field Hockey Championship, Riyadh


The Saudi Hockey Federation successfully conducted the 3rd Open Field Hockey Championship in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia on 17th & 18h December 2021. In this event 6 teams participated and Ten matches were played in this event in which 77 goals were scored in total.

The event became more interesting with the presence of Saudi Hockey federation President Mr. Mohammed Mandeel as a Chief Guest and his presence showed his commitment to promote field hockey in the Kingdom.

The combine efforts of SHF Board of directors and all its executive members, Mr. Abdul-Aziz Al Marri, Mr. Abdullah Al-Siyari and Ms. Reham Al- Ajroush and specially, Mr. Abdullah Al-Duwaihi the chairman technical committee had huge impact to make this event successful. The member of Asian Development Hockey and Engagement Committee Mr. Ali Zaman presence made an Impact to the tournament.

This event was the chain of the last 2 tournaments arranged by SHF in Dammam and Jeddah to promote the field hockey in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

In the final edition of 2021 field hockey tournament by SHF,

Dammam Strikers team took the bronze medal.

Jubail Hockey Club took the silver as Runners up position.

Naqi Strikers took the gold as winners of the Final.

This was noteworthy that Naqi Strikers remained unbeatable throughout all three field hockey events organized by SHF in 2021.

The Manager of Naqi Strikers Hockey Club Mr. Abdullah Munir Faraj Al-Sahly showed his contentment towards his team’s performance throughout these events and looked more enthusiastic for the upcoming events in 2022.

The special awards also given to individual players:

Mr. Abid from Jubail hockey club was declared the man of the match for the first semi-finals.

Mr. Maaz Munir the captain of Naqi Strikers was also awarded with man of the match in 2nd semifinal.

Mr. Fouqiat Abbas goalkeeper of Dammam Strikers was declared best players of the bronze medal.

Mr. Raza Zafar from Jubail hockey club was announced as a man of the match in the Final.

Main Tournament Awards:

The Best Goal keeper awarded to Mr. Amir Shahzad of Naqi Strikers

Mr. Matloob Dev from Jubail hockey club awarded with best player of the tournament.

Mr. Waqar Butt of Naqi Strikers was declared the Top scorer of the this third open field hockey championship.

Real Time Analytics