Day 1 Results: National Women’s Hockey League 2024-2025 (Phase 1)


_~Hockey Association of Odisha beat Hockey Haryana 4-1~_

~Hockey Maharashtra defeat Manipur Hockey 5-1~

Ranchi, 30th April 2024: The opening day of the National Women’s
Hockey League 2024-2025 (Phase 1) witnessed the Hockey Association of
Odisha and Hockey Maharashtra registering wins in their respective
matches, which were played at the Marang Gomke Jaipal Singh Astroturf
Hockey Stadium in Ranchi, Jharkhand.

Hockey Association of Odisha outclass Hockey Haryana

The opening match of the tournament turned out to be an entertaining
affair in which the Hockey Association of Odisha beat Hockey Haryana
4-1. It was Haryana which drew first blood in the match when Shashi
Khasa (3’) capitalised on a fumble made by Odisha’s goalkeeper
Bhabhika Majhi during a penalty corner and netted the ball in from a
point-blank range.

Hockey Haryana managed to maintain their 1-0 lead till the halftime
break, following which Hockey Association of Odisha turned the tide in
their favour as early in the second half, Rambha Kujur (33’) deflected
in the penalty corner to restore parity for Odisha. Momentum swung
decisively in Odisha’s favour when Sonali Ekka (38’, 49’) netted a
brace, while Captain Dipi Monika Toppo (57’) converted a penalty
corner in the dying minutes to cement Odisha’s commanding 4-1 victory.

Hockey Maharashtra ease past Manipur Hockey

In the second match today, Hockey Maharashtra cruised to a commanding
5-1 victory over Manipur Hockey. Right from the outset, Maharashtra
dominated the game, seizing control with Tanushree Dinesh Kadu’s (14’)
penalty corner conversion just before the first quarter ended. Sanika
Chandrakant Mane (25’, 33’) then extended their lead with two field

Despite Manipur’s late surge in the final quarter, marked by Laishram
Ritu Devi’s (51’) field goal, Maharashtra maintained their dominance.
Sanika Chandrakant Mane (53’, 56’) sealed the deal with two more
quick goals towards the end, securing a resounding win for Hockey

Later in the day, Hockey Madhya Pradesh will face off against Hockey
Bengal, while Hockey Jharkhand will clash with Hockey Mizoram.

All the matches of the National Women’s Hockey League 2024 – 2025 will
be streamed live on FanCode.

Real Time Analytics