Hockey India names 18-member India Colts Team for Men’s Junior Asia Cup 2023

~ Uttam Singh has been named the Captain with Boby Singh Dhami shouldering duties of Vice Captain ~


Bengaluru, 04 May 2023: Hockey India on Thursday named the 18-member Indian Junior Men’s Hockey Team for the highly anticipated Men’s Junior Asia Cup 2023 to be held in Salalah, Oman from 23rd May to 1st June 2023. This will be a qualifying event for the forthcoming FIH Junior Men’s World Cup in Malaysia this December and will see India grouped in pool A along with nemesis Pakistan, Japan, Thailand and Chinese Taipei while Korea, Malaysia, Oman, Bangladesh and Uzbekistan are grouped in pool B.

The Indian Junior Men’s Team features an experienced mix of players who have in the past played the previous edition of FIH Junior World Cup in 2021 held in Bhubaneswar, Odisha as well as in 10th Sultan of Johor Cup 2022 where India clinched the title. Uttam Singh has been named the Captain with Boby Singh Dhami as the Vice Captain of the squad.

Mohith HS and Himwaan Sihag have been named as goalkeepers while Shardanand Tiwari, Rohit, Amandeep Lakra, Amir Ali and Yogember Rawat will form India’s defence. The midfield will see the experienced Vishnukant Singh who had a fantastic outing during the recently-held FIH Hockey Pro League in Rourkela. He will be joined by Rajinder Singh, Poovanna CB, Amandeep and Sunit Lakra while Boby Singh Dhami, Araijeet Singh Hundal, Aditya Lalage, Uttam Singh, Sudeep Chirmako and Angad Bir Singh have been named in the forward line.

Speaking about the team selection, Indian Junior Men’s Coach CR Kumar said, “We have a fairly experienced team with some of the players also having made their Senior debut in the recent tournaments. Winning the Sultan of Johor Cup was a big motivating factor and the team is very well prepared for this tournament.”

“We have gone through two preparatory and two competition cycles which have helped the players gain the right amount of exposure. With the Senior team also based out of the same camp here at SAI, Bengaluru, we were able to get ample experience playing matches against them. The team is upbeat and we look to finish on the top,” Kumar added.


1.Mohith H S
2. Himwaan Sihag



3. Shardanand Tiwari

4. Rohit
5. Amandeep Lakra
6. Amir Ali
7. Yogember Rawat



8. Vishnukant Singh

9. Rajinder Singh
10. Poovanna C B
11. Amandeep
12. Sunit Lakra


13.Boby Singh Dhami (VC)
14. Araijeet Singh Hundal
15. Aditya Lalage
16. Uttam Singh (C)
17. Sudeep Chirmako
18. Angad Bir Singh






Major Team Partner


Team Partner






HOCKEY INDIA (HI) is the governing body with exclusive mandate to direct and conduct all activities for both men and women’s hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible towards promoting Hockey in India.


Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established on 20th May, 2009 and is affiliated to the International Hockey Federation (FIH), the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) and Asian Hockey Federation (AHF).


Committed to the development of Hockey in the country, Hockey India with the assistance of Sports Authority of India and Department of Sports, Government of India, trains players at sub-junior, junior and senior level. The governing body engages in Coaching the coaches with International Standard certification programs, educates and equips technical officials and umpires to find a foothold in international arena, provides world-class infrastructure and International exposure for the players besides regular international competition. Hockey India has also pioneered in bringing top International hockey events to India such as the FIH Men’s World Cup in 2010 and 2018, FIH Champions Trophy in 2014, FIH Junior Men’s World Cup in 2016 and 2021, FIH Hockey World League Final in 2017. With its vision to popularize the game and constantly promote it, Hockey India brought the Indian Men’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world. Hockey India is also dedicated to getting the Indian Women’s Hockey Team into the top three in the world.


Follow us on: | Twitter: @TheHockeyIndia | Facebook:  Hockey India | Instagram: hockeyindia



About ODISHA  


Odisha – the Eastern State of India – is known for its love for Hockey and over the years it has evolved to be the Global Hub of Hockey. The State successfully hosted the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018, followed by the FIH Men’s Series Finals Bhubaneswar Odisha, FIH Olympic Qualifiers Odisha, and FIH Hockey Pro League 2020-21. Odisha has previously hosted the Champions Trophy 2014 and the Odisha Men’s Hockey World League Final Bhubaneswar 2017. Odisha also hosted the FIH Men’s Hockey Junior World Cup in 2021.


Kalinga Lancers, the team owned by the State, were the winners in the Hockey India League 2017. Taking a step further towards realising the dream of restoring the glory of Indian Hockey at the global level, the State is sponsoring the Indian Hockey Teams till 2033.


Odisha also hosted the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2023.


Follow us on:



Real Time Analytics