Hockey India names 18-member Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team for the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup South Africa 2021


~ Olympian Lalremsiami will lead the team as Captain along with Ishika Chaudhary as the
Vice-Captain; India will begin their campaign on 6 December against Russia ~


New Delhi, 15 November 2021: Hockey India on Monday named the 18-member Indian Junior Women’s Hockey Team who will vie for honours at the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup South Africa 2021. The event slated to begin on 05 December will witness 16 top teams from across the globe battle for the title which was previously won by Argentina in 2016. India’s best performance in this prestigious event came in 2013 where they won the Bronze medal after beating England.

The Indian Junior Women’s Team will see Lalremsiami, who was part of India’s historic performance at the Tokyo Olympics where the Senior Women finished fourth, Captain the squad while defender Ishika Chaudhary will shoulder the responsibility of Vice Captain.

The 18-member team also includes Salima Tete and Sharmila Devi who were part of the Indian Women’s Hockey Team at the Tokyo Olympics. The team also includes Bichu Devi Kharibam, Khushboo, Akshata Abaso Dhekale, Priyanka, Marina Lalramnghaki, Ajmina Kujur, Baljeet Kaur, Reet, Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke, Beauty Dungdung, Deepika, Mumtaz Khan, Sangita Kumari, Jiwan Kishori Toppo.

Preeti and Prabhleen Kaur have been chosen as alternate players (Ap) who will be permitted to play only if there is an injury or someone in the 18-member squad is ruled out of the tournament due to covid-19.

Speaking about the team selection Chief Coach Women, Janneke Schopman said, “To pick the final selection of 18 players was extremely difficult especially as all 28 players in the Core Probable Group worked very hard in the past months and made good progress. But we feel that we have selected a strong team that is able to compete with every team at the Junior World Cup.”

“With the experience from the Senior team and some great young talent we will show the best India has to give. The team is very excited as they have waited a long time to compete at the world stage and we’re looking forward to making the most of this great opportunity,” she added.

India, who are grouped in Pool C, begins their campaign on 6th December against Russia. They will take on defending champions Argentina on 7th December in their second match in the round robin league, followed by their match against Japan on 9th December.

The knockout matches will take place between 10th December and 16th December as the teams will look to become the Champions of the prestigious quadrennial event. The teams in the fray include the Netherlands, Korea, Ireland, Zimbabwe in Pool A, England, Belgium, Canada and Uruguay in Pool B. Argentina, India, Japan and Russia in Pool C while Germany, Spain, United States and South Africa are in Pool D.

List of India U-21 Team:  

  1. Bichu Devi Kharibam (GK)
  2. Khushboo (GK)
  3. Akshata Abaso Dhekale
  4. Ishika Chaudhary (VC)
  5. Priyanka
  6. Marina Lalramnghaki
  7. Ajmina Kujur
  8. Baljeet Kaur
  9. Reet
  10. Vaishnavi Vitthal Phalke
  11. Salima Tete
  12. Sharmila Devi
  13. Lalremsiami (C)
  14. Beauty Dungdung
  15. Deepika
  16. Mumtaz Khan
  17. Sangita Kumari
  18. Jiwan Kishori Toppo
Real Time Analytics