The 2021 Donghae Women’s Asian Champions Trophy approaches!


The Asian Hockey Federation in collaboration Korea Hockey Association will hold the 2021 Donghae Women’s Asian Champions Trophy from the 5th to the 12th of next month at the Sunrise International Hockey Stadium in Donghae-si, Gangwon-do.

Six countries including Korea, India, China, Japan, Malaysia and Thailand will participate.

The organizer of the tournament was headed by Shin Jeong-hee, vice president of the Asian Hockey Federation.

Shin Jeong-hee said, “Hockey will raise the status of Korean hockey to the International Hockey Federation and the Asian Hockey Federation by hosting it in Korea, and it is expected that it will serve as an opportunity to check the strength of the women’s national team in preparation for the 2022 Hangzhou Asian Games (to be held in September).”

Having started only a decade ago, the Asian Champions Trophy has quickly become one of the most exciting hockey tournaments of the continent and one that draws the world’s attention.

The tournament, featuring only the top six countries of Asia, is considered one of the most competitive hockey events.

The Asian Champions Trophy has also undergone quite a few changes in the last 10 years. It started as an annual tournament but was later held biennially and the number of teams in the women’s event were also increased.

The first Asian Champions Trophy hockey was held in Busan back in 2010 as a women’s-only event. However, unlike today, only the top four teams of Asia – Japan, India, South Korea and China – competed in the first edition.

Hosts South Korea, led by Lee Seon Ok, became the first women’s champions after defeating Japan in the final. India beat China to clinch the third place in the inaugural edition.

Following the success of the women’s tournament, the men’s tournament was started in 2011. It was held in Ordos, China.

The historical winners of the Women’s Asian Champions Trophy have been:


Real Time Analytics