Indian Men’s & Women’s Hockey Team bagged the Sports Illustrated India Awards 2016

The Sports Illustrated Sportsperson of the Year award is the largest sports awards

3 May 2016

The Sports Illustrated Sportsperson of the Year Award is the Largest Sports Awards Franchise Globally and is the most coveted sports awards ceremony. Since its inception in 1954, Sports Illustrated India Magazine, India franchise of the most renowned sports magazine in the world, has annually presented these awards to the athlete or team whose performance in that year most embodies the spirit of sportsmanship and achievement.

The awards so far have honored some of the most celebrated sport icons around the world with the likes of Tiger Woods, Michael Jordon, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Saina Nehwal, Muhammad Ali amongst others.

The 2016 Sports Illustrated Sportsperson of the Year Award in association with Maruti Suzuki Vitara Breeza was held in Pullman Hotel, Aerocity, New Delhi on 29th April 2016. The Chief Guest for the event was Nobel Peace Laureate Kailash Satyarthi.

Dedicated to acknowledging the best in sports, the award was an annual celebration of sportsperson who excel in their field and serve as an inspiration to everyone.

Recognizing the India Men’s Hockey Teams performance in FIH World League 2015, Sports Illustrated gave the Team of the Year Award to the Men’s Hockey Team. Sardar Singh, Captain of the Indian Men’s Hockey Team received the award on behalf of the entire team. The team clinched a Bronze medal at the Hockey World League Finals in an edge-of-the-seat thrilling win against Netherlands, the first medal in an FIH World Level event in 32 years.
Picture Credit: Hockey India
Additionally, the Indian Women’s Hockey Team received the ‘Surprise Package of the Year Award’ for qualifying for the Olympics for the first time in 36 years since the 1980 Moscow Olympics. Ritu Rani, Captain of the Indian Women’s Hockey Team received the award on behalf of her entire team.

The awards to the Hockey teams were given by NBA stars Seth Curry and Robin Lopez who play for Sacramento Kings and New York Knicks in the NBA respectively.

Both the team Captains along with the Chief Coaches, Mr. Roelant Oltmans and Neil Hawgood graced the awards ceremony.

Apart from the Hockey Team Captains Sardar Singh and Ritu Rani, other renowned sports people present at the awards included Rahul Dravid, Anriban Lahiri, CS Santosh, Pankaj Advani amongst others.

Bollywood Star Abhishek Bachchan graced the occasion to receive the awards on behalf of his team Chennaiyan FC.

About Sports Illustrated

An Indian edition of Sports Illustrated, the American magazine best known for its annual swimsuit edition is available in India by Media Transasia, Exposure Media Group India. The content mix of the Indian edition is a mix of guest columns, in depth analysis of sports and photography. Cricket and other sports such as football, tennis, Formula1 and boxing are covered as well. The magazine comprises audience in the age group of 25 to 45 years, and the secondary target group is everyone who is a sports fan.

Follow us on:   |   Twitter:  @asia_hockey  |   Facebook:  Asian Hockey Federation

Real Time Analytics